10: Re-modelling the Red Huts

I made some progress with 3D modelling the actual Red Hut at Rye, as per my project plan, as a potential venue for a virtual exhibition. For my first attempt I just used my iphone and built the simulation on location to see what was happening. As shown below I found it impossible to capture the roof satisfactorily from the ground, and there are also other issues in the detailing:

My second attempt used a combination of a DSLR and an iphone on an extra long selfie stick with a remote trigger. This did better but the mesh has still not managed to complete over the roof (I have 3D cropped this model to try and get it as close as possible but there are still see-through gaps in the roof that would let in the virtual rain).

If I am to progress further with this I would need to use either a step-ladder (following in the footsteps of my Tutor) or a drone as a “high tripod”. For this I would probably need to negotiate access (especially for a drone on a nature reserve with many birds) which might be a good project for the next course of Level 3.

I also rephotographed my model red hut, with the aim of removing the visual blutack on the support. I used the newer method (as per the stones) of physically turning the hut on to it’s various sides and corners to allow the mesh to fully learn the bounds of the object. At first I tried this without the base, but resting the support inside the hut caused an inconsistent boundary that confused the program. In the end I left the base on to create a properly bounded lower floor for the model. I also used the DX sensor crop to zoom in-camera – normally I would do this in post but this allowed me to more accurately position the model. The alternative, zooming during the batch process, has issues due to the different shapes as the model was moved around, meaning the zoom has to be quite conservative to avoid cutting off the edges of the model.

This final model is the one I have used for my assessment submission.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close