4: Feedback Reflection

My Tutor gave me several references to follow up:

Klett, Solnit, Wolfe: Yosemite in Time: https://photo515050level3.wordpress.com/2022/09/29/yosemite-in-time/

Davis: Great Little Tin Sheds of Wales: https://photo515050level3.wordpress.com/2022/09/30/pete-davis/

Freeman: Manzanar – I have made 3 attempts to purchase this book from US sites. One did not work, one sold it to me but then said it was no longer in stock, and the third would not send to the UK after Brexit due to costs. For now I will have to park this one.

Gregory: Between the Book and the Lamp, for it’s discussion of how expectations of place are set in advance: https://photo515050level3.wordpress.com/2022/10/07/between-the-book-and-the-lamp/

CRITICAL STRATEGIES:

I had my first double (i.e. 2 x 15 min) tutorial session with Ariadne. I prepared my thoughts on possible critical directions in advance here: https://photo515050level3.wordpress.com/2022/09/29/critical-strategies/

We particularly discussed the Yosemite work and the idea that a landscape that appears natural (i.e. a nature reserve) is actually man-made or at least designed by humans to look that way. There are elements of the precession of simulacra discussed by Solnit wrt Yosemite, but Ariadne felt it was too early in the project to assume or focus on this and that first the questions should be asked as to who decides how the landscape should look at Rye Harbour and how do they decide that.

OUTCOME OF REQUEST FOR DELAY DUE TO CAMERA FAULT

Happily this was agreed – it was suggested I apply for a deferral which could be supported by the photos I supplied rather than an extension which needs expert evidence – although I have agreed the problem and solution with my Tutor I can only get an expert opinion after having sent my camera off to Nikon. This has now been done. Below is the confirmation from Learner Support:

I have updated my project plan accordingly:

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close