5: Feedback Reflection

My Tutor stressed the need to keep things visual – I have not had the chance to get to Rye Harbour for a while since I have been without a working camera. However I have found the thinking space very useful and,I hope, created wider and more interesting possibilities for the project going forward. Nevertheless I do intend to spend a lot more time back at Rye in the spring.

Producing the mid-point review is actually a lot of work not dissimilar from preparing for assessment for Level 2, so the degree “process” has taken up my time for this project. It has however given me a chance to get my thoughts together on the written work by producing a (very) draft literature review.

I’ve engaged more with the Student Groups recently and received quite strongly positive feedback on the 3D printed camera and on the embossed b&w images. My Tutor encouraged me to go further with the embossing, perhaps covering the surface of the image, although it is interesting that student feedback favoured the more subtle approach. I need to experiment more here.

My Tutor raised the man-made islands as an obvious project and it is certainly something I would like to look at – I can enquire about gaining access although also try and reach them with a long lens from the bird hides. Perhaps most interesting to me is an old description of Rye in Roman Times that references the harbour as containing many islands with an eagle nesting on each (need to dig out this passage) – raising the possibility of taking a photograph today of a man-made landscape that resembles one two thousand years ago.

My Tutor also felt the hut models were coming to a logical end – I agree although I do want to finish scanning and 3D printing the “real” hut, which in itself is quite a bit of work but I will then feel I have finished with it.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close